Absence

Deck Chair in the Sunshine
I appear to have dropped off the face of the Internet again recently.

I would love to lie and say that I have been busy, but I haven’t. Truth be told, the last couple of weeks have been a bit strange. The days have just merged into one long stretch of eat-work-eat-sleep-repeat. Like I’ve been watching my own life from the sidelines, not really living it. It’s not that I have been unhappy exactly, but more that there has been a lack of happiness. Not sadness, just numbness. I’m trapped in this weird, monotonous limbo – I have no idea what the hell I’m doing with my life, which doesn’t appear to matter that much seeing as other people seem to be trying to make all my decisions for me anyway. Because I don’t need to have an opinion on the city I live in, the house I live in, when I leave my current job, how I spend my weekends… It’s all making me feel kind of suffocated. I just want to escape it all, which is as funny as it is tragic. I am a 26-year-old woman who wants to run away from home.

This weekend has actually turned out to be a very welcome break from that feeling, from slightly warm Chardonnay in my best friend’s garden on Friday to a full-on high heels, short skirt and far-too-many-mojitos night out last night. Today I’ve been nursing a (mercifully) small hangover, stretched out in the sunshine, reading The Fault in Our Stars to see what the fuss is about. It’s been a perfect British summer weekend – warm, laid-back and boozy.

Hopefully I’ll be starting to feel more like myself again soon, and you won’t need to read any more of these miserable, self-pitying posts. Until then, I would recommend that you go and have a giggle at Lucy or Frankie’s blogs, or coo over an adorable puppy on Gemma’s blog.

Normal service will resume shortly.

 

5 thoughts on “Absence

  1. the whole month of may was a little what you were describing, I hope you feel much better soon – what sorted me out was a holiday to Paris that I had booked months ago and it timed so well with my down mood (funnily enough) I had the flu the whole time but just that chance of stepping back sorted me out and im feeling energised again 🙂 if you have the option to have a pamper day I bet that will help you out 🙂 in the meantime have some internet hugs and looking forward to reading your posts again 🙂 jenny xx

  2. Thank you for the shout out. Though I must admit, my blog may be a bit of a let down for people used to your awesomeness. All I can say is keep drinking chardonnay, stand your ground and don’t let the bastards get you down xxx

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

