What is your blog all about?

I have to admit that I um-ed and ah-ed over doing this first post in the Blog Every Day in May challenge. My blog is only 10 posts old, and it only feels like five minutes ago that I was writing my Introduction post! The more I thought about it though, the more it seemed that it was a stupid idea to sign up for something like this only to say ‘Ah, I give up’ at the first hurdle. So, without further ado…

The Sky and The Sea is, I suppose, a lifestyle blog. I want to write about just about anything that takes my fancy, from make up to crochet to general rants.

Villefranche Sur Mer

I’ve never actually explained why I went with The Sky and The Sea when it came to finding a name. It’s a pretty simple explanation really – they are the two things in life that I feel most drawn to. The sky because, as well as being a cloud-watcher and star-gazer, I love travel and in particular flying. I am that person who can’t enjoying shopping in duty free because she’s too excited to hop on the plane and watch the fields and houses slip away as we take off! The sea also has a weird hold on me. I say weird because I have grown up (and currently live) in the Midlands – as far away from the coast as you can get really! I spent my time at uni by the seaside – from Aberystwth in Wales, to Gijón in northern Spain and a two-month stay in Nice in France, and I loved that overwhelming feeling of looking out from the beach to a seemingly infinite horizon. There is nothing that makes a problem disappear like standing on the shore and realising just how small you are in the grand scheme of things.

The tagline ‘One woman’s struggle to avoid making a fool of herself in public’ comes from my apparent love of falling over, walking into inanimate objects and generally embarrassing myself in front of other people. And it’s a daily struggle. It really is!

So, there you have it – that’s what this is all about. Essentially it’s the ravings of a clumsy madwoman who wants to see the whole world. Preferably without making a complete tit of herself.

5 thoughts on “What is your blog all about?

  1. What a lovely post, and what a great time for Blog Every Day in May to come along for you! I took part last year, and I really enjoyed it. It’s a great way to make new blogger friends!

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

