Lent

Doubt kills more dreams

For some reason, I have spent the last week or so deliberating over what I should give up for Lent this year. I wouldn’t usually bother with it but with things feeling a bit stale and monotonous at the moment, I thought the shake up might do me some good. My first thought was to try to cut back on the amount of sugar I eat but …no, just no.Every other idea that I could come up with was rejected on similar grounds – that voice in my head telling me that I wouldn’t be able to do it.

Which is when it hit me – maybe this Lent I should try giving up on being so hard on myself. I have a tendency to over-think things and beat myself up over the silly little mistakes. It’s a habit I really want to break, and I know I can’t be alone in that.

So – at least for the next 40 days – take a deep breath and just let it go. It is ok that you forgot to indicate on that roundabout, it does not make you the world’s worst driver. The fact that your skin isn’t perfect does not negate any of your talents. It doesn’t matter that the cake you spent an hour making doesn’t look anything like the one on Pinterest. It’s still cake isn’t it?! Just eat it and enjoy every delicious mouthful.

This, coincidentally,  is why I’m definitely not giving up the sugar just yet.

P.S. I had intended on posting this yesterday but, as it turned out my village decided it was giving up electricity for the evening!

One thought on “Lent

  1. Pingback: Review: Balm Balm Relax Body Oil | The Sky and The Sea

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

